Maverick's Web Page

Cane Corso Mastiff / Mixed (short coat)  : :  Male  : :  Young  : :  Large

More Pics...

About Maverick

  • Status: Adopted!
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: Fawn
  • Eye Color: Brown
  • Ear Type: Droopy
  • Tail Type: Long
  • Current Size: 50 Pounds
  • Current Age: 1 Year 9 Months (best estimate)
  • Fence Required: Yes(6 foot)
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Obedience Training Needed: Needs Training
  • Exercise Needs: Moderate
  • Grooming Needs: Low
  • Owner Experience Needed: Breed

Hi! My name is Maverick and I’m excited to find my forever family! I’m a bit shy with new people, but I warmed up to my foster family quickly and instantly became the biggest snuggle bug! I love curling up with my people and having a nap beside them. So my forever family better love snuggles!!!!! My foster mom goes to work during the day which makes me sad, but my foster grandma and grandpa are usually home to keep me company because they’re “retired” (whatever that means!). If they’re going out too, then I go into my crate with no fuss. I might cry for abit when I realize I’m alone, but then I settle down and nap. My foster mom says I’m a very smart boy, and she’s always teaching me new tricks. I don’t really understand why she wants to shake my “Paw” all the time, or what the point of a “High five” is, but she gives me treats and it makes her happy, so I do it ! I also know to “Sit” and “Lay down”. Foster mom is also teaching me “Place” which is kind of like going into the crate but without the walls. I lay down on my bed and wait til mom tells me “Free” to leave. I’m potty trained and know to go to the door when I need to go outside ! I’m still working on my leash manners, and i’m doing really well but still need some reminders not to pull. When it’s just me and foster mom, I walk nicely on a loose leash and will “Heel” when asked. I get a little bit skittish of loud noises and am unsure of strangers. Foster mom gets my attention back on her and we just continue on our way. I do get excited when we walk with other dogs though. I will pull and lunge to try and greet them or play. Foster mom corrects me but I might forget a few times and need to be reminded not to pull. I’m slowly learning though! Although I really like going for walks with other dogs, I’m not sure how I feel about sharing my home(or people!) with one. I really like getting all the attention from my family, and will snap at another dog when they come too close to let them know. I will also guard my food and toys. Foster mom is working on teaching me this isn’t okay, but it will be something I’ll need my people to help manage. I have some allergies so I’m on a strict diet of vet-approved kibble only. Foster mom uses my kibble as treats when we’re training. My new family will need to do some research if they wish to change my food. All I know is I CAN NOT have chicken!!! I know that I need to sit and wait for foster mom to put down my food bowl before I start eating. I’m okay with her taking it away and putting her hands in it. Foster mom is trying to teach me “Drop it” when she wants me to give her one of my toys. I don’t quite get it yet, but I will let her take them away from me. Sometimes, when I’m feeling playful, I jump and use my mouth. Foster mom corrects me and I try really hard to remember, but I just get so excited ! I’m going to be a very big, so it’s important I learn now. Because of this, I will need a home with dog savvy kids. I also like my peace and quiet, fast movement and loud noises scare me, so my new family needs to continue to work on my confidence building so I’m not such a scaredy cat!! I am getting more confident every day, but I will take awhile to get comfortable with new people and a new space. My ideal people will be committed to continuing my training so that I can be successful in my new home. I came from a horrible backyard breeder who let me and my siblings fight for food and survival. I need someone who will be patient, loving and firm with boundaries so I can grow up into the gentleman I know I can be. I really hope my forever family comes along soon, I have so much love to give and can’t wait to snuggle with them! I currently weigh about 50lbs, am neutered microchipped, and up to date on my vaccines. I am approximately 7 months old. If you think you are my forever home pls apply at:

More about Maverick

Good with Some Dogs (No small dogs), Is Not Good with Kids, Good with Adults, Requires a yard, Cratetrained, Likes to play with toys, Needs special care, Not good with small dogs

Other Pictures of Maverick (click to see larger version):

Maverick Maverick Maverick Maverick
Maverick Maverick Maverick Maverick